HOW DO I QUALIFY?

You can qualify for these services if: you are at least 60 years old; you have an annual income that meets Maryland Legal Services Corporation guidelines (for 2012-2013, that means not more than \$26,521 for an individual or not more than \$34,681 for a couple); and your assets do not exceed \$20,000 (or \$40,000 for a couple). Your home, a car (or two cars for a couple), and your personal property are not counted as assets for Sixty Plus.

For more information or to be referred to an attorney, please call the number listed on the back of this brochure for the area where you live.

Be sure to ask for the Sixty Plus Legal Program when you call.

BALTIMORE CITY

Bar Association of Baltimore City Lawyer Referral and Information Service (410) 539-3112

BALTIMORE COUNTY

Baltimore County Bar Association Lawyer Referral and Information Service (410) 337-9100

MONTGOMERY COUNTY

Montgomery County Lawyer Referral Service (301) 279-9100

ALL OTHER COUNTIES

Maryland Senior Legal Helpline Legal Aid Bureau, Inc. (410) 951-7760 or toll-free 1-800-896-4213 ext. 7760 (TTY Users: Call Maryland Relay – Dial 7-1-1)

The Sixty Plus Legal Program is a joint project of the Maryland State Bar Association's Elder Law Section; Legal Aid Bureau, Inc.; Bar Association of Baltimore City Lawyer Referral and Information Service; Baltimore County Bar Association Lawyer Referral and Information Service; and Montgomery County Lawyer Referral Service.

JUNE 2012

LOW COST LEGAL HELP



SENIORS

THE SIXTY PLUS
LEGAL PROGRAM

SIXTY PLUS LEGAL PROGRAM

IF YOU ARE at least 60 years old, you may qualify for a program providing you with low-cost legal services. This program works with private attorneys who care about you and your need for affordable legal assistance. You will be referred to a local attorney who will charge you a reduced fee.

Services include:

WILLS. A will is a document stating who is to receive your property, or your estate, after you die. A will controls what happens only to assets titled in your name. By having a will, you control who receives those assets, which may include your house, land, automobile, household items, and money. If you have no will, Maryland law provides for those assets to be distributed to your closest relatives. If absolutely no relatives can be found, your estate can go to the State of

Maryland, though this rarely happens. 60+ attorneys prepare simple wills. Complex wills, such as those involving trusts or tax complications, are not covered.

- POWERS OF ATTORNEY. A Power of Attorney is a written statement authorizing another person to act on your behalf. If you are somehow unable to conduct your personal business, such as your banking, or make other decisions for yourself, a power of attorney can be a very useful legal tool.
- ADVANCE HEALTH CARE DIRECTIVES AND LIVING WILLS. With an Advance Health Care Directive you can direct in writing who you want to make health care decisions for you, if you are unable to do so yourself. You can also give written directions and instructions (sometimes called a "living will") on how you want certain health issues addressed, if you become incapacitated.
- PROBATE. A small estate is one in which the total value of everything in the estate is \$50,000 or less (or \$100,000 or less, if a surviving spouse is the only person who is inheriting). A 60+ attorney can assist you with the administration of a small estate through probate.
- DEED CHANGES. Simple deed changes

can be drafted if the transaction is within your family, and no money changes hands. This may happen when one spouse moves to a nursing home and wants to transfer the title to the house to the sole name of the spouse still living there.

HOW MUCH DOES IT COST?

THE INITIAL MEETING with the attorney is FREE. Afterwards, if you decide to have the attorney represent you, the work will be done at a very modest cost. Each document the attorney prepares will cost \$25, or \$35 for a pair of documents for a married couple. Additional documents are available at the same rates. The fee for representation in a small estate is \$25 per hour with the total cost not to exceed \$500. Any expenses or fees, such as lien certificates and recordation fees, are your responsibility and are not included in attorneys' fees. Please note that the attorneys' fees for a small estate are the responsibility of the person seeking assistance with administration, not the estate. To the extent that funds are available, many expenses and fees may be paid out of the estate.